Barn-wood Inspired

*Sold*

Yesterday I delivered a custom order distressed dining table to one very happy customer! As a fan of natural wood, she was looking for a farmhouse style table that resembled the look of vintage barn-wood. Without a barn in sight, I knew this could be a challenge. I took a break from the chalk paint, found a (new) table with grooves that resembled planks and knew this was the piece destined to be distressed.

Here’s the before:

farmhousetableLiz

A beautiful table, in great condition, just didn’t say ‘I CAME FROM A BARN!’

The process:

LizTableProcess

After sanding down the entire table to the bare wood (leaving some color variations to suggest natural weathering), I used a hammer, screwdriver, screws, and anything else I could find to give this table some authentic dings and dents. I then applied a couple of coats of a ‘jojoba’ stain and sealed with a water-based poly acrylic.

The after:

LizTable1

LizTable2

With a flat finish and some wear and tear, this piece suggests that its been outside over the years. This customer came to me with only a picture and I’m glad I was able to execute her vision. Happy dining!

Leave a Reply

